Mainz (D) Cathedral St. Martin

 

Mainz Dom Rieger-Orgel

 

After decades of preparatory work, the project became reality in August 2022: the new main organ for the thousand-year-old Mainz Cathedral of St. Martin, the cathedral church of the diocese of Mainz, was inaugurated. With its 95 stops on 4 manuals and pedal, this organ is certainly one of the highlights of the company’s history. Despite architectural constraints, the organ nevertheless establishes enormous presence in the entire building. The richness of tonal colours and the variety of sounds are overwhelming; consider, for example, the cluster of seven string-toned stops – violas, viols and violins – in the orchestral division.

 

The Bishop of Mainz, Dr. Peter Kohlgraf, personally visited the organ building workshop in Schwarzach during the construction of the organ to hear the first sounds. His enthusiasm was reflected in the fact that he played a piece for four hands together with cathedral organist, Prof. Daniel Beckmann, at the opening concert.

 

Rieger would not be Rieger if such an important organ was not equipped with another organ-building innovation – this time a novelty from the in-house electronics development department: the organist can determine from the console, via the “audience position” function, at which point in the cathedral the large main organ and the smaller ‘market portal’ organ (Goll, 2021) can be heard exactly together, without any delay, despite a long spatial distance.


Details


Krakow (PL) St Mary’s Basilica, Main Organ

Krakau Polen, St. Marys Basilika, Rieger-Orgel

 

St Mary’s Church is a Gothic brick church built in the 14th century in Krakow’s Old Town. The church has a rich collection of historical works of art, including the famous main altarpiece created by Veit Stoss between 1477 and 1489.

 

Rieger restored and rebuilt the choir organ in 2018 (14 / II / P) and has recently installed a new main organ with 62 stops (IV / P). The choir organ has its own console, but can also be played from the console of the main organ. The historic main organ case has been re-used, after pedal towers were added and after it was restored separately by specialists in art restoration in Poland. The organ was consecrated in a festive service in May 2022.


Details


Krakow (PL) St Mary’s Basilica, Choir organ

Krakrau, Polen, St. Marys Basilika, Choir Organ

 

In May 2022 Rieger Orgelbau completed the large main organ (62/IV) in St. Mary’s Basilica in Krakow, after the existing organ case had been enlarged and rebuilt.

In the same period, Rieger also rebuilt the choir organ (14/II) within the existing historic case, which now supports the musical events in liturgy and concert in front of the world-famous Veit Stoss altar.

.


Details


Geilo (N) Cultural Church

 

Geilo Norwegen, Rieger-Orgel, Cultural-Church

 

Geilo is one of Norway’s most popular centres for outdoor activities. On the outskirts of the picturesquely situated small town, not far from the national park, lies the Culture Church, built of wood, glass and concrete, like a sculpture; a church that requires a particularly diverse and musically colourful instrument, with an ingenious specification, sensitively voiced and with an individual artistic design.


Impressionen


Zhengzhou (CHN) Grand Theatre

Zhengzhou Grand Theatre is located in the Zhengzhou Cultural District and is considered the best performing arts palace in the Central Plains; it will highlight the art of movement and bring to the fore the pivotal status of Zhengzhou in Chinese culture with an architectural image unique to the Central Plains.

Our project was delayed by the emergence of the Covid 19 pandemic. Assembly started in early 2020, but when the lock-down in China was announced, we withdrew our staff from Zhengzhou – the building site was dormant for over a year. Happily, we were able to complete this fantastic project in December 2021 with a festive concert. In the meantime, the instrument (70/IV) is one of the most important concert hall organs in China.


Details



Nantong (CHN) Grand Theatre

Nantong Grand Theatre Rieger-Orgel

The city of Nantong is located in Jiangsu Province on the northern bank of the Yangtze River, opposite Shanghai on the southern bank of the river. Rieger Orgelbau was commissioned to build a new organ with 66 stops (IV/P) for the 1,200-seat concert hall located within the new cultural district. The inauguration took place in December 2021.

The façade design of the organ consists of three undulating lines that overlap and therefore imitate three peaks and valleys. At the same time, this design is imbued with movement, which gives the instrument a graceful charm.

 

One sees: Rieger gets organs moving. And people too.

 


Details



 


Bregenz (A) Festival, Opera

The management of the Bregenz Festival commissioned the composer Alexander Moosbrugger to write an opera entitled “Wind”, which was performed at the Werkstattbühne in August 2021. The story of the opera is based on the Hypnerotomachia Poliphili, which was printed in Venice in 1499 with numerous woodcut illustrations in the style of the early Renaissance. It is believed that the writer is Francesco Colonna. The story is an allegory in which Poliphilo pursues his beloved Polia through a dreamlike landscape.

The composer designed an organ with 179 pipes to produce the widest possible range of tones and partials. The pipes were arranged in groups around the theatre, giving visitors the feeling of “sitting in the instrument”.

The construction of this unique theatre organ is an example of Rieger’s flexibility and willingness to experiment with tonal developments.

 


Details



PROJECT ARCHIVE

Mainz (D) Kathedrale St. Martin

 

Mainz Dom Rieger-Orgel

 

Nach jahrzehntelanger  Vorarbeit ist das Projekt im August 2022 Wirklichkeit geworden: Die neue Hauptorgel für den tausendjährigen Mainzer Dom St. Martin, Kathedrale des Bistums Mainz, wurde eingeweiht. Mit ihren 95 Registern auf 4 Manualen und Pedal gehört diese Orgel sicherlich zu den Höhepunkten der Firmengeschichte. Trotz architekturbedingter Zurückhaltung entfaltet sie doch enorme Präsenz im gesamten Raum. Der Klangfarbenreichtum und die Klangvielfalt sind überwältigend ausgefallen, man denke nur an den siebenfachen Violen-, Gamben- und Violinen-Chor im Orchesterwerk.

 

Der Mainzer Bischof Dr. Peter Kohlgraf suchte während der Bauzeit der Orgel die Orgelbauwerkstatt in Schwarzach persönlich auf , um sich erste Klänge anzuhören. Seine Begeisterung schlug sich darin nieder, dass er im Eröffnungskonzert gemeinsam mit Domorganist Prof. Daniel Beckmann vierhändig spielte.

 

Rieger wäre nicht Rieger, wenn bei einer so bedeutenden Orgel nicht auch wieder eine orgelbautechnische Neuerung eingebaut worden wäre – diesmal eine Novität aus der hauseigenen Elektronik-Entwicklungsabteilung: Der Organist kann vom Spieltisch aus über die Funktion „Publikumsposition“ festlegen, an welcher Stelle im Dom die große Haupt- und die kleinere Marienorgel (Goll, 2021) trotz langer räumlicher Distanz  ohne jegliche Verzögerung exakt zusammen hörbar sind.

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Krakau (PL) Marienbasilika

Krakau Polen, St. Marys Basilika, Rieger-Orgel

 

Die Marienkirche ist eine gotische Backsteinkirche, die im 14. Jahrhundert in der Krakauer Altstadt erbaut wurde. Die Kirche ist reich an vielen historischen Kunstwerken, darunter das berühmte Hauptaltarbild, welches von Veit Stoss zwischen 1477 und 1489 erschaffen wurde.

 

 

Rieger restaurierte und baute die Chororgel 2018 um (14 / II / P) und installierte 2021 eine neue Hauptorgel mit 62 Registern (IV / P). Die Chororgel verfügt über einen eigenen Spieltisch, kann aber auch vom Spieltisch der Hauptorgel aus gespielt werden. Das historische Hauptorgelgehäuse wurde wiederverwendet, nachdem es um Pedaltürme erweitert und von Spezialisten für Kunstrestaurierung in Polen separat restauriert wurde. Im Mai 2022 wurde die Orgel in einem festlichen Gottesdienst geweiht.

 

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Krakau (PL) Marienbasilika, Chororgel

Krakrau, Polen, St. Marys Basilika, Choir Organ

 

 

Im Mai 2022 vollendete Rieger Orgelbau in der Marienbasilika in Krakau die große Hauptorgel (62/IV), deren vorhandenes Gehäuse ergänzt und umgebaut wurde.

Zeitgleich baute Rieger innerhalb des bestehenden historischen Gehäuses auch die Chororgel neu (14/II), die nun das musikalische Geschehen in Liturgie und Konzert vor dem weltberühmten Veit-Stoß-Altar trägt.

 

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Geilo (N) Kulturkirche

 

Geilo Norwegen, Rieger-Orgel, Cultural-Church

 

Geilo zählt zu Norwegens beliebtesten Zentren für Outdoor-Aktivitäten. Am Rande der malerisch gelegenen Kleinstadt unweit des Nationalparks liegt wie eine Skulptur die aus Holz, Glas und Beton erbaute Kulturkirche, die ein besonders vielfältiges und musikalisch farbiges Instrument erfordert, raffiniert disponiert, feinfühlig intoniert und mit einer individuellen künstlerischen Gestaltung.

 

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Zhengzhou (CHN) Grand Theatre

 

Zhengzhou Grand Theatre befindet sich im Zhengzhou Kulturbezirk und gilt als bester Palast der darstellenden Künste in den Central Plains, es wird die Kunst der Bewegung hervorheben und manifestiert den Achsenstatus von Zhengzhou in der chinesischen Kultur mit einem architektonischen Bild, das einzigartig für die Central Plains ist.

 

Unser Projekt wurde durch das Aufkommen der Covid-19-Pandemie verzögert. Die Montage begann Anfang 2020, aber als der Lock-down in China angekündigt wurde, zogen wir unsere Mitarbeiter aus Zhengzhou ab – die Baustelle musste über ein Jahr lang ruhen. Erfreulicherweise konnten wir dieses fantastische Projekt im Dezember 2021 mit einem festlichen Konzert abschließen. Mittlerweile gehört das Instrument (70/IV) zu den bedeutenden Konzertsaalorgeln in China.

 

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Nantong (CHN) Grand Theatre

Nantong Grand Theatre Rieger-Orgel

 

Die Stadt Nantong liegt in der Provinz Jiangsu am nördlichen Ufer des Jangtse Flusses, gegenüber Shanghai am südlichen Ufer des Flusses. Rieger Orgelbau wurde beauftragt, für den innerhalb des neuen Kulturviertels gelegenen Konzertsaal mit 1.200 Plätzen eine neue Orgel mit 66 Registern (IV/P) zu bauen. Die Einweihung fand statt im Dezember 2021.

 

Das Fassadendesign der Orgel besteht aus drei wellenförmigen Linien die sich überlagern und daher drei Spitzen und Täler imitieren. Dabei wird dieses Design von Bewegung durchdrungen, was dem Instrument einen anmutigen Charme verleiht.

 

Man sieht: Rieger bringt Orgeln in Bewegung. Und die Menschen auch.

 

Details

 

 

 

 


 

Bregenz (A) Festspielhaus, Oper

 

Die Leitung der Bregenzer Festspiele hatte den Komponisten Alexander Moosbrugger beauftragt, eine Oper mit dem Titel „Wind“ zu schreiben, die im August 2021 in der Werkstattbühne aufgeführt wurde. Die Geschichte der Oper basiert auf der <strong>Hypnerotomachia Poliphili</strong>, die 1499 in Venedig mit zahlreichen Holzschnittillustrationen im Stil der Frührenaissance gedruckt wurde. Es wird vermutet, dass der Schriftsteller Francesco Colonna ist. Die Geschichte ist eine Allegorie, in der Poliphilo seine geliebte Polia durch eine traumhafte Landschaft verfolgt.

 

Der Komponist konzipierte eine Orgel mit 179 Pfeifen, um eine möglichst breite Palette von Tönen und Teiltönen zu erzeugen. Die Pfeifen wurden in Gruppen um das Theater angeordnet und vermittelten so den Besuchern das Gefühl „im Instrument“ zu sitzen.

 

Der Bau dieser einzigartigen Theaterorgel ist ein Beispiel für Riegers Flexibilität und Bereitschaft mit klanglichen Entwicklungen zu experimentieren.

 

Details

 

 

 

PROJEKTARCHIV